top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Utley

Week 4: Paris

Updated: Feb 10, 2020

This weekend trip was a success, between the slick traveling, mid-day crêpes, and beautiful weather, I left the City of Love wanting to go back.

I rode the Eurostar into Paris from London, and I have to say, the tracks beat the sky any day. At least from London to Paris it does, there was nothing difficult about the process in its entirety, and it shoots you straight into the middle of the city. Buying the ticket was easy and fast, the security was lenient, and the train was spacious (it also helped that I didn't have anyone next to me going either way). I highly recommend taking the Eurostar, it's what I'll have to look at next time I decide to travel.

My hotel was only a fifteen minute walk from the station, and right next to the metro, so that made getting around really easy. I stayed at the Holiday Inn - Gare de L'Estates, and for the decent rates, it made for a comfortable place to rest my head! The receptionist was helpful and was more than happy to recommend me go to restaurants where the women were. However, besides my brief conversations with the front desk and time in bed, I spent hardly anytime there.

On Friday morning I woke up five to six o'clock, was at the station by seven-thirty, was on the train by eight-thirty, and arrived in Paris by noon Central European Time (which is an hour ahead). I immediately took the metro to the aesthetic streets of Montmarte and ate at the historic Le Consulat cafe. Located on the famous Rue Norvins, the french restaurant has been open for centuries having served renowned artists of the 19th century such as Van Gogh, Picasso, Sisley, and Monet.

After I took down my cheese covered, ham sandwich, I made my way to the Montparnasse Tower and “The Sinking House”. This is a very elevated area that's bustling with tourists and has a great view of the skyline. The Sinking House, however, was a bust as my expectations were far from reality.

Once I gave up on trying to get the perfect picture of that house, I headed to Arc de Triomphe. The skyline on top of the arc was better than anything else and better than what the Eiffel Tower offered because I could actually see the renowned monument.

The impressive structure was my next stop, and although the top level was closed due to construction, the second level still had an amazing view. I decided to go at five so I could watch as the sun goes down and lights come on all over the city.

Pizza was on the menu for dinner Friday night and I wound up at the O'scià Pizzeria Napoletana. My sister claims that this was the best pizza she's ever had, and I'd say that it was alright. It wasn't bad but it wasn't my favorite.

Saturday called for another early morning, this time at the Trocadéro. I watched the sunrise a little later than expected around eight-thirty as it was pretty cloudy, but fortunately, I caught a glimpse of it through a break in the clouds.

The Louvre opened at nine, so once the sun rose, I was back on the metro and in line at the massive museum. The home to Da Vinci's Mona Lisa was the main attraction for me, but I soon learned it was home to much more! The reason I went so early was to get a less crowded view and miss the lines, and although it wasn't too bad, it was busier than I expected! I spent over three hours at this museum and hardly covered a section of the compound, it's one of the most famous galleries in the world for a reason!

To get my history fix for the trip, I ventured down into the depths of Paris' Catacombs where the remains of over six million people reside. The Catacombs are underground ossuaries in a small portion of a tunnel network built in 1786 to consolidate Paris' ancient stone quarries. I felt like Indian Jones as I wandered through the decrepit small spaces, up close and personal with all of the skeletons. I felt as if I was about to set off booby-trap, have to run for my life, and maybe just slide under a closing door. Only a fraction of the Catacombs are open to the public though, and apparently, there are secret entrances throughout Paris to other sections so... until next time!

I finished my trip off with a burger from le Ruisseau Burger Joint. I ordered a cheddar burger with fries and their homemade lemonade, and that made for a pretty good dinner! If I would've gotten the double cheeseburger, I think I would've been happier but that's all the more reason to go back!



64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page