top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiles Utley

Meet me at the London

Updated: Jan 2, 2020


"A bad day in London is still better than a good day anywhere else"

Although the author of this quote is unknown, I couldn't relate more with their statement. As much as Iowa State University, nestled in the heart of the Midwest, has turned into my home, I've become ready for a change in pace.

For the better part of these past couple years, Ames has been a good fit for me. Not only has it served well at being my home, but also at being a great home for things such as the college ministry I attend or fraternity chapter I'm a member of. Furthermore, Ames is where my friends are; where the people who actually make these organizations worthwhile, reside. So why, if a place like Ames is so meaningful to me, would I want to ever leave?

I found myself pondering that question early into the spring of my freshman year, after my parents suggested I consider studying abroad. The opportunity had always been made aware to me, however the if, when, and where, were not as evident. I decided to pull the trigger on the idea around Easter that year, and begin the marathon of decisions that would follow. What my decision ultimately came down to was whether what Ames and Iowa State had to offer, was worth passing up for a semester to go abroad. The answer was a resounding yes.

Although Ames is my home, Ames is well... Ames. After living there for a couple years, I got pretty familiar with the area and eventually stopped exploring like I once had. This is great and all because I wasn't constantly lost anymore, but given the ability to see a whole new city, country or even culture, is something I found hard to pass up.

All throughout my life I've been exposed to exploration; everywhere from the backyard woods I grew up around, to the summit of Haleakala Crater, situated in center of a wonderland know as Maui. Learning or traveling about unfamiliar areas is something I've grown to appreciate and enjoy. Being raised in a family that liked to travel therefore, fit me well, and is probably the reason I'm so partial to traveling in the first place.

Out of the numerous escapes I've been on with my family, one common theme of them all is that they're to warm (or non-cold) places. That's mainly because my Dad doesn't enjoy going to cold places if it's for a vacation, especially if we have the ability to go somewhere warm. I can agree a lot with that as well; after last winter's "polar vortex", I started calculating ways to not have to experience something like that again. As it turns out, a spring study abroad is the perfect excuse to get out of another potentially brutal Iowa winter. So it goes without saying that I chose to study in the spring to miss the snow and freezing temperatures that I'll hopefully leave behind. After all, the average low temperature in London over the next four months is 42° F, compared to Ames' much colder 23° F. With that being said, London is clearly not the warmest of places I could've chosen to study at, so why London?


I originally chose London because a cousin of mine had previously studied abroad there and recommended it. I really couldn't go wrong though, I think I could've chosen a lot of different countries/places and been just as happy. What really appealed most to me about London though, was the expansive amount of things to do there, and for everyone. London is an exciting city with so much to offer and so much history to tell; all of which further affirms my decision to study there.


Even if Ames is my home, I have a passion for traveling and an opportunity to continue my studies abroad, that I'm not passing up. Although I'll be missing most of this years men's basketball season, winter is my least favorite time of year and leaving for the spring is my way of escaping that. Furthermore, leaving to spend the next four months in London will be an exciting opportunity to learn and experience the greatness of the city first hand.


I will continue to blog once a week as I begin this journey, so feel free to subscribe to get my updates! This post is also apart of my application process to be a Social Media Intern for the Abroad Center. I'm applying because I already planned on blogging and would enjoy further representing Iowa State, in London! Blogging gives me a fun and structured way to keep my friends and family in the loop, as well as requiring myself to think about each day and really process through my experiences. I think being an intern would be fun on Instagram too, as I'd have an excuse to post twice a week and let those in my life get a little taste of the UK!


As for now though, Adios! I've got bags to pack and a plane to catch but I'll be back next week to fill you in on my first week at the London!

123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page